About Us


Log Cabin Republicans is the nation’s original and largest organization representing gay conservatives and allies who support fairness, freedom, and equality for all Americans. Log Cabin Republicans has state and local chapters nationwide, full-time staff in Washington, DC, a federal political action committee, and state political action committees.

Log Cabin Republicans of Houston strives to be an advocate for legal and political equality for all Houstonians, regardless of sexual orientation or status, under the framework of the Republican principles of limited government, individual liberty, and personal responsibility. A portion of this work involves helping equality minded Republicans to achieve political office within the greater Houston area, and reaching out to all individuals with shared values, and demonstrating that a person's sexual orientation or identity does not limit them from supporting the best of Republican ideals. Through these shared goals and activities we build a community where all Republicans, gay or straight, transgender or not, have opportunities in which to discuss issues of mutual interest.


Within Texas there are five Log Cabin Republicans chapters: San Antonio, Austin, Dallas, Fort Worth and Houston. Each chapter meets monthly in their respective cities, and at least once a year all the chapters meet and work together to build a stronger more consistently principled and liberty-minded Republican Party. 


The Houston chapter was founded in 2010. The organization includes GLBT and allied Republicans, including numerous local elected judges and state legislators, supportive of a big tent GOP. Houston LCR members have been active in assisting in the election campaigns of our endorsed candidates, such as those of Sarah Davis for State Representative for HD 134, and Houston mayoral candidate Bill King.  Our annual fundraising galas have featured keynote speakers in recent years such as Fox News Contributor Matt Schlapp, Bill King, Harris County Judge Ed Emmet, U.S. Congressman Ted Poe, and U.S. Congressman Dan Crenshaw.  In the 2017 legislative year Houston LCR provided two thirds of the Texas LCR lobby team at the Texas state capitol, and spearheaded a formal alliance at the state level with the Republican Liberty Caucus of Texas and the Texas Young Republicans Federation.  At the 2018 Texas GOP State Convention, the Houston chapter led a successful effort, with the support and aid of other Republican allies and fellow LCR chapters across the state, to change the official party platform, removing all blanket condemnations of people simply for being gay.  As a result of that success, the Houston chapter and the LCR Texas Board were recognized by the national organization of Log Cabin Republicans with an award at their annual Spirit of Lincoln Dinner held in Washington, D.C. in October, 2018. U.S. Congressman for District 2, Ret. Lt. Cmdr., Dan Crenshaw, was the featured speaker at the Houston LCR Lincoln Dinner. In February 2020, the Harris County GOP Chairman was a guest speaker at the general meeting for the first time. 

2024-2025 Directors and Officers

President: Danny Stevens
Vice-President: Robert Diaz-Arrastia
Treasurer: Kyle Levy
Secretary: Eric Ruzyla
Communications Director: David Palmer
Membership Director: Robert Alleman
Social & Activities Director: Karl Hengst

Past Presidents

2022-2024 - Chris Halbohn
2020-2022 – Jay Milton
2016-2020 – Marco A. Roberts
2014-2016 – Antoine B. Taylor
2012-2014 – Michael Baker
2010-2012 – Chris Busby

Governing Documents

Log Cabin Republicans of Houston By-laws can be viewed here

Bylaw History:

New by-laws were adopted on September 14th, 2022.